Cana to Capernaum

I hadn’t calculated it before, but Cana to Capernaum would have been quite a walk! At our English Bible study a few weeks ago, we were studying Jesus’ miracle of changing water into wine. Jesus and crew started in Cana of Galilee (John 2:1, 11) and then hoofed it over to Capernaum for a few days (v. 12). You can do the math…

I don’t know if many of you knew, but, on February 28th, I ran my first “super” half-marathon (24 km; 14.9 mi). I had ran a regular half-marathon (21 km; 13 mi) two Thanksgivings ago, but those extra 3 kilometers really killed me this time. I only had three goals for the race:

  1. finish in under 2 hours
  2. don’t walk
  3. finish!

I only accomplished the last one, coming in at #830 overall, with a time of 2:40:11. It was all I could do just to step from the road to the sidewalk when that race was over! I have slowly recovered and am grateful to have experienced even a little bit of what it might have been like to travel around in the 1st Century (but, of course, they did this almost every week!).

Here are a few pics:

2 Responses

  1. Nice matt. I want to do that! I think I can do it

  2. Way to go, Smucker!!! I’m impressed that you have kept up your running! Don’t worry to much about the crappy time and the walking. I remember having to walk a small stretch of our half-marathon…it’s a bit humiliating, but at least it got me across the finish line!

    I have never heard of a “super half-marathon” before. Interesting!

    Once you get back to the states, you’ll see that it is way easier to run. The humidity and temperature is way better to run in. I think I knocked almost a half minute off of my time just because of the climate change!

    Rock on, Buddy!! Time to put on my shoes and hit the road! You’ve inspired me! 😉

Leave a comment